onionbhaji
h o m e
r e v i e w s
r e s t a u r a n t s
t a k e a w a y s
g u e s t b o o k
f u n   s t u f f
r e c i p e s
l i n k s
 Purple Mango, Milton Keynes
 Saturday, 7 April 2007
  restaurant factfile
  also reviewed 15 August 2008
  also reviewed 12 July 2008
  also reviewed 23 December 2006
  also reviewed 16 August 2006
  also reviewed 14 December 2005
  also reviewed 30 November 2005
  also reviewed 31 July 2005
  also reviewed 5 July 2005
  also reviewed 28 June 2005
  also reviewed 6 April 2005

Please note that we are unable to verify the impartiality of guest reviewers, so readers should use their own judgement.

Guest review
by Michael Cressey, Milton Keynes

Always a warm welcome here. It was my birthday and so went out for an evening's meal. Started with four poppodums (between two), these are served with a choice of six condiments, the usual chutneys, two strengths of lime pickle, mint yoghurt dippy stuff etc. All good stuff. Previous experience has taught me not to order a starter because the size of the main meal means that you just don't need it. We often order an onion bhaji as a side dish to the main meal though.

I ordered my "usual" Lamb Bhuna and it's a good serving of a mildish tomato based curry with nice big chunks of tender lamb inserted. It comes in a hot cast iron bowl that is placed on a table warmer, so it keeps warm whilst you struggle to finish it. This was served with Mushroom Rice and a Nan Bread (which were shared with my friend.). My friend ordered 'dry' Chicken Tikka which is served on a very hot sizzling skillet with lots of onions and peppers sizzling away, that was very tasty too. The meal was accompanied by a couple of large Cobra lagers, but they have a nice selection of wines too. From previous experience I've found the house red wine is a very nice Merlot.

After the meal you get the usual hot towels to freshen up with and also a few slices of orange and some orange flavoured chocolates. The bill arrives with a side order of aniseed sweets and more chocolates. The restaurant itself is decorated in a very modern style and there's no flock wallpaper. There's nothing that would tell you that you are in an Indian restaurant apart from the waiters and menu. It does tend to be quite quiet whenever I've been, this was a Saturday night at about 8:30pm and the restaurant was only a third full. So it's good for getting a table, but does lack atmosphere at times. Also the service can be a little on the brisk side, whisking away plates and bringing the next course a little to quickly sometimes, but they seem to be improving a little.

Price wise it's reasonable, the meal for two with drinks came to a little over £40, it's not the cheapest place in MK but certainly it's good value for what you get. I should also mention the lunchtime business menu which is £8 and you get a starter, main course, rice or nan and coffee for that, excellent value I think. Parking is also very good, especially in the evenings, park next door in the empty health centre car park and it's a twenty second walk to the restaurant. Overall I would definitely recommend the Purple Mango.

Michael rated this 9 out of 10.